Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton Were The Most Buzzed-About Designers On Instagram For 2017

Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton Were The Most Buzzed-About Designers On Instagram For 2017

Instagram just released new data today claiming that Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton are the app’s most buzzed-about fashion brands of 2017.

The brands were named in Instagram’s Year in Review global data package which revealed the most popular fashion labels as well as models.

Advertisement


These findings were based on”

  • followers
  • engagement
  • buzz

Most buzzed-about designers of 2017:

  1. Dior (@dior)
  2. Hermès (@hermes)
  3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)
  4. Saint Laurent (@ysl)
  5. Topshop (@topshop)
  6. Balenciaga (@balenciaga)
  7. Burberry (@burberry)
  8. Balmain (@balmain)
  9. Chloé (@chloe)
  10. Ralph Lauren (@ralphlauren)

And it comes as no surprise that Dior was the most buzzed-about designer label this year, which was based on number of mentions and comments.

Why?

Dior’s infamous “We should all be feminists” t-shirt was a major hit across social media this year as it was seen at women’s rights protests all over the world.

And if that wasn’t enough, the “J’adior” branding, which was introduced by Dior’s creative director, Maria Grazia Chiuri, struck another chord with Instagram.

And if terms of the designers with the most engaged followers, Gucci’s Alessandro Michele took the number 1  spot while Fenty Puma by Rihanna came in second and Haider Ackermann came in third.

Top 10 designers with the most engaged followers in 2017:

  1. Alessandro Michele (@lallo25)
  2. Fenty Puma by Rihanna (@fentyxpuma)
  3. Haider Ackermann (@h.a)
  4. Diane von Furstenberg (@therealdvf)
  5. LaQuan Smith (@laquan_smith)
  6. Molly Goddard (@mollymgoddard)
  7. John Galliano (@jgalliano)
  8. Iris van Herpen (@irisvanherpen)
  9. Supreme (@supremeny)
  10. Virgil Abloh (@virgilabloh)

Also, Supreme made Instagram’s ‘Year in Review’ in two categories:

  1. Most engaged followers – 9th place
  2. Most new followers – 6th place with 8 million followers

The New York-based streetwear label has a tremendous year as they released a major collab with Louis Vuitton and raised investment from the private equity giant the Carlyle Group.

Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton Were The Most Buzzed-About Designers On Instagram For 2017
Illustration by Nerea Verdejo Blanco for BoF

Here is Instagram’s Year in Fashion:

Top 10 most followed designers:

  1. Chanel (@chanelofficial) 25M followers
  2. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton) 19.2M+ followers
  3. Gucci (@gucci) 17.8M+ followers
  4. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) 17.2M+ followers
  5. Dior (@dior) 17.2M+ followers
  6. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana) 15M+ followers
  7. Prada (@prada) 13.5M+ followers
  8. Michael Kors (@michaelkors) 10.6M+ followers
  9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein) 10.2M+ followers
  10. Versace (@versace_official) 10.2M+ followers

Top 10 designers who gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017:

  1. Chanel (@chanelofficial): Gained 9.6 million followers
  2. Gucci (@gucci): Gained 8.1 million followers
  3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton): Gained 7 million followers
  4. Dior (@dior): Gained 5.9 million followers
  5. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham): Gained 5.7 million followers
  6. Supreme (@supremeny): Gained 4.8 million followers
  7. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana): Gained 4.5 million followers
  8. Prada (@prada): Gained 4.3 million followers
  9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein): Gained 3.9 million followers
  10. Versace (@versace_official) Gained 3.5 million followers

Designers who garnered the most Stories views:

  1. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham)
  2. Dior (@dior)
  3. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana)
  4. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)
  5. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein)
  6. Gucci (@gucci)
  7. Tommy Hilfiger (@tommyhilfiger)
  8. Versace (@versace_official)
  9. Chanel (@chanelofficial)
  10. Fendi (@fendi)

Most buzzed-about models of the year:

  1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner)
  2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)
  3. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele)
  4. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)
  5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)
  6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)
  7. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima)
  8. Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin)
  9. Josephine Skriver (@josephineskriver)
  10. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)

Comments

Comments

Sabrina Hewitt

Fashion, Beauty & News Contributor

Born and raised on Long Island. Blogger by day, bartender by night.